Weekend Wrap Up

June 3 & 4

I thought we would go to the Vancouver Aquarium this weekend but that didn’t end up happening.

Friday night, we spent hours pulling tubes (basically weird light bulbs) out of my husband’s Mesa Boogie Road King trying to find out which ones were burned out. It’s hard to tell as they have a mercury type top to them and it’s difficult (especially in bad lighting) to see which ones are blacked out. He decided that he would replace all of them, so went out Saturday afternoon and bought new tubes and replaced them all.  I spent this time watching movies. I watched Neon Demon, which was really weird and I didn’t like it. Inferno, the third installment of the Robert Langston books by Dan Brown (Da Vinci Code, Angels & Demons…) and Bad Moms, which as just o-kay. We then went on the hunt for gelato and since it was 8pm by this point, there wasn’t a lot in the area still open and we weren’t willing to go downtown to La Casa (we should have though). We headed into Fort Langley to go to Maria’s Gelato but when we got there it was really weird.  They had changed it into a strange hipster type joint and while we saw people coming out with gelato, we didn’t see any displays. I decided it was too strange now and we left. Don’t fret though! We DID get ice cream. We went to Marble Slab Creamery, Matt had a banana split with mango,  orange and amaretto ice cream and pineapple, strawberry and gummy bear toppings. A little strange but he said it was tasty. I had Swiss chocolate ice cream with Skor bits and gummy bears in a skor chocolate dipped waffle cone bowl.   SO TASTY. I would get that again in a heart beat.

Sunday was laundry, cleaning and Costco. Costco was surprisingly not busy, probably because it was gorgeous outside and people had better things to do than grocery shop! We bought pre-marinated pork ribs and I cannot wait to BBQ them up tomorrow with some SPG baby potatoes and a Caesar salad!

We ended the weekend by going to The Keg with our friends Lisa and Ryan. We went early to avoid what is usually a crowd but it never did get busy! I had an 8oz sirloin Oscar (béarnaise, shrimp and scallops) with roasted peppers, green beans and asparagus and crème brûlée to finish it off! So fricking good, I could have licked my plates! Matt had a 12oz New York strip loin, twice baked potato, green beans and asparagus and a Caesar salad,  cheesecake with caramel and fudge drizzle to finish. Lisa had prime rib, Caesar salad, baked potato and some mixed veg, mini brownie and vanilla ice cream for dessert. I also convinced her to have a watermelon mojito and it was tasty! She didn’t like all the mint though. I think Ryan had a rib eye, but to be honest I’m not quite sure, I only remember Lisa’s because she ALWAYS has the prime rib! Luckily, our meal was only $36 plus tip because I had some gift cards left over from Christmas!

Casey, Lee… we missed your faces. 😦

Oh! Another fun thing, Sophie cuddled with Matt on the couch for the first time in years. Ever since we got Fenix, and Fenix claimed Matt as hers, Sophie hasn’t had a chance to  snuggle without a jealous kitty sister having  tantrum. Matt was thrilled.

So that was our weekend! I hope to go see Wonder Woman soon, I’ve been hearing very good reviews!!

xx Jenna

Leave a Reply

